Main Menu

Explore More

Election Information

Owatonna Public Schools is governed by a seven-member School Board elected at-large by district residents. Board members serve four-year terms and are elected during the November General Election on even years. 

The next school board member election will be November 5, 2024. Three seats with four-year terms will be up for election. 

Interested candidates will file their affidavit of candidacy with Sarah Hoffman at the Owatonna Public Schools District Office during the filing period, which is July 30-August 13, 2024.

For a school district office, any person may be a candidate who is:

  • eligible to vote;
  • will be 21 years old on assuming office;
  • will have been a resident of the school district for 30 days before the election; and
  • is not registered as a convicted sex offender.

A $2 filing fee must be paid, or a petition may be filed in place of the filing fee, at the time of filing.

New terms will begin the first Monday in January.

Click here to view the notice of filing.

Image of video thumbnail for school board candidates

Click here or the image above to view MSBA's 3-minute video about school boards.

Filing Period

July 30-August 13, 2024

Filing Location

Owatonna Public Schools District Office, 333 East School Street (front entrance faces Grove Avenue)


Affidavit of Candidacy
Campaign Financial Report
Campaign Financial Report Certification of Filing

Financial Reports

Owatonna Public Schools is required to publish financial reports by any organized campaign committee or candidate. These reports will be available on the school district website for four years. M.S. 211A.02.