Main Menu

Explore More

Skip To Main Content
Volunteer
Volunteers who are committed to helping students be successful are important members of the school team. They are essential to bring the outside world to the school. Students need contact with volunteers who can share experiences and bring other perspectives into the classroom. Thank you for your participation in the education of children in the Owatonna Public Schools.

 

 

Volunteer Guidelines and Expectations

Volunteers must complete a background check application before serving students affiliated with Owatonna Public Schools. The district will cover the cost of the background check. You will be sent a background check application link from Trusted Employees (a secure site). Once you click on the link you must complete the entire application within 30 minutes. If you start the application and try to complete it after 30 minutes the link becomes inactive. You can only click the link once.

Confidentiality is very important. Any concerns, observations, or information about a student, teacher, administrator or volunteer should be shared only with the person in charge. Immediately notify a teacher, principal, or individual in charge if a student gives you information that causes alarm. Volunteers must report suspected child abuse or neglect to the principal, school social worker, or counselor.

 When arriving at school, volunteers are to check into the main office where the building secretary will provide an identification badge. Middle School volunteers should check in at the security desk to receive an identification badge. Volunteers are required to wear the identification at all times.

 

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer, please contact the building's Volunteer Coordinator. If you are retired or a grandparent, please contact Grandparents for Education.

Lincoln
Pam Raichle
praichle@isd761.org

McKinley
Amy Cocchiarella
acocchiarella@isd761.org

Owatonna High School
Dawn Tuchtenhagen
dtuchtenhagen@isd761.org

Owatonna Middle School
Juanita Drabek
jdrabek@isd761.org

Washington
Kathy Wolfe
kwolfe@isd761.org

Wilson
Beth Youngquist
byoungquist@isd761.org

Grandparents for Education
www.grandparentsforeducation.org